Overture of the ballet The Creatures of Prometheus in C major, Op.43, L.v. Beethoven 
Symphony no.1 in C major, Op.21, L.v. Beethoven
– –
Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Minor, Op.37, L.v. Beethoven
Josu de Solaun piano

1.30 h (w/intermission)

Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

The Creatures of Prometheus is the music for a heroic and allegorical ballet in two acts which Beethoven composed between 1800 and 1801 on the libretto he was given by the Italian ballet dancer and choreographer Slavatore Vigano. It was premiered at the Burgtheater in Vienna on the 28th of March 1801. Despite its conventional classicism, it reaffirms the composer's enormous creative personality.

Starting at the beginning of the 19th century, the symphony became the most noteworthy musical form for orchestral compositions. This aesthetic pursuit was already seen in Beethoven's First Symphony; at the age of 30 the composer had also given a new approach to the sonata form for piano and to his chamber music. Dedicated to the Dutch imperial librarian Baron Gottfried van Swieten, it was premiered at the  Burgtheater in Vienna on the 2nd of April 1800 with the composer as conductor.

Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 3, Op.37, which is dedicated to Prince Louis Ferdinand of Prussia, is admirable for its inspiration, its technical and formal perfection, its harmonic and instrumental balance, and for the varied romantic character of its content.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.