* Due to the prevention measures adopted by the Malaga City Council to contain the spread of the coronavirus, the celebration of this concert is cancelled.
The tickets sold on the Internet and by telephone were refunded automatically. Tickets purchased at the box offices will be refunded once they open again and a new deadline is announced.
The Philharmonic’s season ticket holders will receive the amount directly in their accounts.


Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op.26, M. Bruch
Angelo Xiang Yu violin 
– –
Symphony No.5 in B-flat major, Op.82, J. Sibelius

1.20 h (w/intermission)

Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

Given its melodic beauty and technical virtuosity, Max Bruch’s Violin Concerto in G Minor, Op.26 can be compared with the most famous works of the genre. Composed in 1866 and dedicated to the great Austrian-Hungarian violinist Joseph Joachim, it is the first, and most popular, of a series of three concertos. Its style is projected in two directions; towards the past, focusing attention on the gentleness that arises from Mendelssohn's famous concerto, and towards the future, anticipating in some way the one composed twelve years later by Johannes Brahms, for whom Bruch felt great admiration and friendship.  

After having composed his conceptually introverted and formally modernist Symphony No. 4, Opus 63, the Finnish musician Jean Sibelius planned his Symphony No. 5, Op. 82 during the years of the First World War. He wrote three different versions before finally feeling satisfied with the result. The original symphony in four movements was performed for the first time at the Helsinki Conservatory of Music on the 8th of December 1915, the day of the conservatory’s 50th anniversary, by the city’s Philharmonic orchestra with the composer as conductor.  

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.