Conductor Rumon Gamba

Serenade for strings in E minor, Op.20, Edward Elgar
Oboe concerto in C major, K314, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Ramón Ortega Quero oboe
– –
Petrushka, Igor Stravinsky

1.35 h (w/intermission)

photo ©Andreas
Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

Although it was not published formally until 1892, it seems that the Serenata for strings in E minor, Op. 20 is a re-elaboration of a suite that Edward Elgar had written some years before he started focusing on developing his career as composer. This piece continues to be one of the most frequently performed of all his music. Its public debut took place in July, 1986, in Antwerp.
Mozart’s Oboe concerto in C major, K314 is a reconstruction for oboe of the concerto catalogued as K271k he had composed in Salzburg in 1777. It seems that it had been written for the Italian oboist Giuseppe Ferlendis when the latter was appointed oboist at the Court Chapel of Salzburg. The following year Mozart arranged it for flute, with slight modifications, to satisfy the commission of Ferdinand Dejean, a wealthy Spaniard who had immigrated to South America and whose favorite instrument was the flute.
Petrushka, together with The firebird and The rite of spring, is one of the most singular works composed by Igor Stravinsky. Written in 1911, it moves away from the style of his master Rimski-Kórsakov, giving the impression of a curious improvisation. It represent a new manner of understanding and treating folklore that crystallizes in this masterpiece, breaking away from impressionist effects and the German tradition and at the same time proposing a new discourse based on repetition, whether static or varied, far from any type of academic development.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.