Logbook (World premiere ACIM*), P. Miralles
– –
Symphony No. 1 in D major, IGM 7 ‘Titan’, G. Mahler

1.05 h (w/out intermission)

Program notes Jose Antonio Canton
*Asociación de Compositores e Intérpretes Malagueños
(Association of Composers and Performers of Malaga)

According to the composer Pilar Miralles, her work Cuaderno de Bitácora consists of little pieces, each one based on the seven notes of the ascending diatonic scale, which maintain a narrative from beginning to end, yet without any motivational connection between them and no programmatic intention. However, for listeners this work has an abstract sense, leaving it up to the latter to find the meaning that their perception and emotions determine.
With clear liederistic influences, Gustav Mahler’s initial intention was that his First Symphony would be a symphonic poem with considerable abstraction, until the publication of the first edition in 1898, in which nature is always present. The nickname “Titan” stems from the musician’s admiration of the namesake novel written by the great German writer popularly known as Jean Paul (Johann Paul Friedrich Richter), for whom he felt a great deal of affinity, given his fantasy, strange sense of humour and emotivity. Following the symphony’s premiere, the composer proposed a guide to follow the performance, mainly because, as he said, “my friends persuaded me to provide a sort of programme to make comprehension of the symphony easier.”

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.