Notice for Season Ticket holders
Current health regulations do not allow us to have the necessary seating capacity to attend to all season ticket holders. We are refunding the amount corresponding to this programme. Tickets may be purchased from 6:00 p.m. on April 30, at the box office with the same discount for season tickets or by Internet if the purchase is without a discount and with the possibility of choosing.


Genoveva, Op.81: Overture, R. Schumann
Violin Concerto in D major, Op.77, J. Brahms 
Ana María Valderrama violin  
Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op.73, J. Brahms

1.40 h (w/out intermission)

Program notes Jose Antonio Canton
photo ©Marco Borggreve

Composed in the spring of 1847, Robert Schumann’s overture Genoveva was finished before the four act German opera by the same name. Based on a play by the playwrights Tieck and Hebbel about the misfortunes of an 8th century Alsatian heroine, it was quite well received at its premiere on the 25th of June 1850 at the Stadtteather in Leipzig. 
Johannes Brahms completed the Violin Concerto, Op. 77 at his summer residence in the Carinthian village of Portschach in 1878. It was dedicated to his friend the great Hungarian violinist Joseph Joachim, whom he had consulted during the composition and who premiered the concert in Leipzig on the first of January 1879 with the Gewandhaus Orchestra, with the composer conducting.
Johannes Brahms composed his Second Symphony during the summer 1877 at the spa of Pörtschach am Wörthersee, which was premiered by the Vienna Philharmonic led by the conductor Hans Richter. Without going into the details of each movement, overall the symphony has a much more pastoral than formalist Viennese character. 

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.