Rosamunde, D.797: Overture, F. Schubert
Violin Concerto in E minor, Op.64, F. Mendelssohn 
Leticia Moreno violin 
Symphony No. 8 in B minor, D.759, 'Unfinished', F. Schubert

1.10 h (w/intermission)

Program notes Jose Antonio Canton
photo ©Omar Ayyashi

The overture Schubert wrote for Rosamunde, Princess of Cyprus, suffered several setbacks. Its accelerated premier obliged Schubert to use the overture of his opera Alfonso and Estrella. The absolute failure of that work, written by the Germann playwright Helminia von Chézy, who acknowledged the weakness of her text, drove its marvellous incidental music into oblivion for many years. 
The Second Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64 by Felix Mendelssohn was composed between 1838 and 1844, and premiered on the 13th of March, 1845 in the city of Leipzig by the violinist Ferdinand David, to whom it was dedicated, and the famous Gewandhaus Orchestra, with Ferdinand David as concertino and Niels Gade from Denmark as conductor.
The 'Unfinished' Symphony, which at the time it was composed heralded a new dimension of orchestral music, introduces us to Schubert’s most intimate and personal world. It was published after the composer’s death, when it was discovered at his friend Anselm Huttenbrenner’s residence in Graz by Johann Herbeck, conductor of the Orchestra of the Court of Vienna, who premiered the symphony in Vienna on the 17th of December, 1865.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.