Symphony in E-flat major,  P. Hindemith  
– –
Violin Concerto in D major, Op.61, L. V. Beethoven
Svetlin Roussev violin

1.40 h (w/intermission)

Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

Dedicated to the Finnish couple of patrons Jenny and Antti Wihuri, Paul Hindemith's Symphony in E-flat major was finished on the 14th of December 1940 and was performed for this first time a year later, on the 21st of November, in Minneapolis by the city's symphony orchestra with Dimitri Mitropoulos as conductor. The eclecticism of his music responds to a certain desire for experimentation stemming from his ample knowledge as a performer. At the same time he continued to enrich his experience with other genres, including opera and chamber music.  

The Violin Concerto in D major Op.61 was not the first piece composed by Beethoven for violin and orchestra. In addition to the Romances Op. 40 and Op. 50, in his last years in Bonn he wrote more than two hundred fifty bars for violin and orchestra in C major which have fallen into oblivion. There is no doubt that this is the work of the concerto genre that is definitely and unequivocally the epitome of that denomimation. Finished in 1806, it was dedicated to Beethoven's childhood friend Stephan von Breuning and premiered that year on the 23rd of December by the violinist Franz Clement at the Theater an der Wien in the Austrian capital.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.