* Due to the prevention measures adopted by the Malaga City Council to contain the spread of the coronavirus, the celebration of this concert is cancelled.
The tickets sold on the Internet and by telephone were refunded automatically. Tickets purchased at the box offices will be refunded once they open again and a new deadline is announced.
The Philharmonic’s season ticket holders will receive the amount directly in their accounts.


Piano Concerto No.4 in F major, Op.58, L.v. Beethoven   
Konstantin Scherbakov piano
– –
Symphony No. 4 in B-flat major, Op.60, L.v. Beethoven

1.30 h (w/intermission)

Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

Beethoven's Concerto No. 4, Op. 58 is considered by performers and specialists as his finest, and in fact  is the one in which the composer clearly shows his creative dominion and unequivocal voice. The beginning is impressive, not so much for its form, but rather for the captivating manner with which the piano presents itself, expressing his initial inspiration without any rhetorical gesture and with gentle command.  

Situated between two monuments of his incomparable symphonic catalogue, Beethoven wrote his  Symphony No. 4, Opus 60 in the summer of 1806, putting aside for some time the composition of his famous Fifth Symphony, which was quite advanced. With less arrogance than the majority of the works of his repertoire, the Fourth Symphony has a light character marked by the return to the musical cannons of the times. Beethoven is transparent in his intention to transmit a calm, confidential friendliness with subtle and intense sensitivity, giving the piece a definite poetic character. Following a private audition, it was presented to the public at the Hofftheater of Vienna on the 15th of November 1897, and was dedicated to Count Franz von Oppersdorff.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.