* Due to the prevention measures adopted by the Malaga City Council to contain the spread of the coronavirus, the celebration of this concert is cancelled.
The tickets sold on the Internet and by telephone were refunded automatically. Tickets purchased at the box offices will be refunded once they open again and a new deadline is announced.
The Philharmonic’s season ticket holders will receive the amount directly in their accounts.


Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op.93, L.v. Beethoven
– –
Scheherazade, Op.35, N. Rimski-Kórsakov

1.30 h (w/intermission)

Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

Beethoven composed his Symphony No. 8, Op.93 between 1811 and 1812. The main core of the symphony was written in the summer of 1812 while he was at Teplitz in Bohemia, where he had gone to  “take the waters”. Considered by some as the “the little F major” due to its small dimensions, Beethoven, however, called it the “Grand Eighth Symphony” because of the purity of its forms. Beethoven's biographer Wilhelm von Lenz was one of the first to value the composer's ingenuity, grace and free thinking in his return to classicism with this symphony as the result of a well thought out stylistic decision.

The Symphonic Suite ‘Scheherazade’ is the work for which Nikolái Rimsky-Kórsakoff is universally known. It contains all the artistic qualities of this great master of orchestral instrumentation, discipline in which he stands out at the same level as Berlioz, R. Strauss, Stravinsky and Ravel.  In this sense, he used to say that he preferred instrumenting than composing, endowing his work with a sumptuous formal language of great sonorous colour, and also showing interest for the work of his colleagues, in particularly Mussorgsky.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.