The Flying Dutchman, WWV.63 (Oberture) de R. Wagner
Triple Concerto in C major, Op.56, L.v. Beethoven
Trío Arriaga
Juan Luis Gallego violin
David Apellániz cello
Daniel Ligorio piano
– –
Symphony no.3 in E-flat major, Op.55, ‘Heroic’

1.40 h (w/intermission)
Program notes Jose Antonio Canton

The Triple Concerto, Op.56 by Ludwig van Beethoven is an interesting stylistic essay composed between 1803 and 1804, which recalls the baroque concerto grosso in which the orchestra instruments separate themselves from the ensemble at one point to engage in a dialogue with the rest of the instrumental formation. This type of work was presented in the second half of the 18th century in the form of a “symphonie concertante”, with excellent results for both Mozart and Haydn. The fact that Beethoven planned on having the Archduke Rudolph, who was nothing more than a dilettante of the keyboard, at the piano explains the pre-eminence of the cello and that it is the work’s main focus of virtuosity.

General Bernadotte, the French ambassador in Vienna, suggested that Beethoven compose the Heroic Symphony, Op. 55 before 1789. It was finished in May 1804 and heard for the first time in August 1804 at the home of Prince Lobkowitz, to whom it was finally dedicated. It was premiered at the Theatre an der Wien in Vienna on the 7th of April 1805 with the composer conducting the orchestra.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.