VIII MÁLAGA CLÁSICA. Gala de clausura

Ahora l Now. From the 11th to the 16th of May

VIII MÁLAGA CLÁSICA. Gala de clausura

Jesus Reina & Anna Margrethe Nilsen artistic directors

Dmitri Shostakovich. 5 pieces for two violins and piano
Georg Friederich Händel. ‘Allor che sorge’ from Rodrigo, HWV 5, for tenor and piano
                                            ‘Lo già t’amai’ from Rodelinda, HWV 19, for tenor and piano
Dmitri Shostakovich. Two pieces for string octet, Op.11
World Premiere. Jesús Reina. Piece for cornet, string quartet and percussion
Astor Piazzolla. ‘Summer’, ‘Winter’ and ‘Spring’ from The four seasons of Buenos Aires, for solo violin and orchestra

1.40 h (w/intermission)

The eighth edition of the Málaga Clásica festival looks to the future of music with premiers of work of world class living composers, who will share the programme with masterpieces from different periods that were a a source of inspiration for these new compositions. With these unique concerts, conferences and conversations with musicians, the public will have the chance to partake of this creative musical process. In addition, the festival continues to support young musicians with its “Talents” series and with master classes conducted by the artists during the festival.  Once again, the international violinists and festival directors Anna Nilsen and Jesús Reina have prepared a unique programme based on an original theme.

The closing concert of Málaga Clásica unites the characteristics that define the theme of the festival’s eighth edition: “now”. In this walk through the musical landscape one can find early untypical works by Shostakovich, full of melody and simplicity, like his pieces for two violins and piano. One also encounters in the octet, a self-labelled modern Shostakovich, with his feet planted in the present but looking to the future. In between these two works we will hear a completely different aesthetic in Handel’s music: a master of the Baroque, outstanding in his usage of homophony, opera seria and oratorio. These styles and their variety, together with traditional music, present in Piazzolla - and whose “seasons” serve as a reinterpretation of the seasons themselves (after Vivaldi’s classic) - are inspirations which lay in Jesus Reina’s music, who intertwines the harmonic structures of the Baroque period with modern counterpunctal lines and traditional rhythms, adding to the chamber ensemble an instrument of great tradition in Andalucia and the rest of Spain, the cornet.

(!) Use of cookiesWe use own and third party cookies to improve our services by analyzing
your browsing habits.
We need your consent to use cookies that require prior approval.
For further information please read our Cookies Policy.